It’s better to feel pain, than nothing at all

Standard

That line is from Stubborn Love by The Lumineers. It’s really amazing how much music speaks to me and it isn’t so much the harmonies and melodies but more so the lyrics. Don’t get me wrong, I love the music itself but there just seems to be so much insight in a good lyric. It seems as though most musicians have felt much pain but also much joy. I love the concept of the two. You really can’t have one without the other. How would you know what joy and happiness are if you haven’t experienced pain and heartache? I mean really. We all experience varying levels of emotion but would you really be able to savor the beauty of life without understanding the complexity of the ugly?

This is in no way meant to make light of the emotions and repercussions of our abuse but rather to allow ourselves reasons to find the good things in life. I, in no way, am thankful of my abusive past. I have heard some people say that they are grateful for their tribulations and that they wouldn’t be who they are without them. I agree with that a little. Of course I wouldn’t be who I am without my past but I am not grateful for it. My past doesn’t define me. I am, however, understanding that it is my reality and I accept that. It is what it is and I can’t change that. It has caused me deep pain and permanent scarring but I look at those as my battle wounds since I am a survivor.

I could go on and on about depression and the feeling of absolute nothingness but my point here is that even if you are in the middle of a very painful present, relish it because it will soon be your yesterday. The pain lets you know that you are alive and helps you to see the forest despite the trees. Don’t give up!

Speaking of todays and yesterdays, this song is great too: When the Morning Comes by Delta Rae. Check it out!

 

4 responses »

  1. You are so right!!! This is something you have pointed out that I never thought of; if you are depressed, then at least you’re feeling SOMETHING. Thank you for pointing out the silver lining, often times when we are in a depressed state we don’t see this. Awesome post! 🙂

  2. I appreciate so much what you’ve said. It takes a lot of courage to keep on going with so much emotional trauma and pain. What a beautiful message of hope you’ve given to so many!

Leave a Reply

